Algester Parkinson Lions Club

District 201Q1 Queensland Australia

About Us

Lions logo

Our club was formed on April 21st 2002. For many years we met at Algester Bowls Club now the Algester Sports Club. We started with over 30 members. In the 18 years since our inauguration we have assisted many areas of our local community. We looked after the Col Bennett Park for 8 years and have been closely involved in projects with our local schools.
Our fundraising was initially raised by cleaning cars at the local BP. service station.
We then moved to running barbecues at various events including barbecues at Browns Plains Bunnings store. We also have an annual fundraising event, selling Lions Christmas Cakes at Bunnings, as well as many retail outlets around the local area.

Our signature local community event for the past few years has been our Qld Day Family Fun Day which is celebrated at the Algester State School around Qld Day (6 June) each year.
 We estimate that our club has returned in excess of $110,000 and thousands of hours of work to the community since its inception.

100% of all proceeds from our projects are donated to the community.
We organise eyeglass collection of old spectacles to be sent to third world countries.
We have been involved in overseas student exchanges.
We have an ongoing relationship with many other service groups and local members at state and local level.

45 second audio - Help Us Support Medical Research

45 second audio - Lions Clubs help in Disaster Relief

Here is brief 30 second video about Lions Clubs in Australia.

Lions Clubs Australia

Meeting times and venue

We meet on the fourht Monday of the month at 6.30 for 7pm at
The Algester Sports Club, 41 Endiandra Street, Algester 4115

Contact our club secretary at  

Or our membership officer               Brian Philipson on 0409 877 551

Please call at least a couple of days ahead of the meeting date.

Algester Parkinson Lions Club Office Bearers for 2020-21

PRESIDENT                                          Di Henderson

SECRETARY                                         Di Hughes

TREASURER                                        Des O'Brien

MEMBERSHIP OFFICER                     Brian Philipson